Nytro

Gmail’s SMTPUTF8 prone to homographic attacks

Gmail’s SMTPUTF8 prone to homographic attacks (thanks, 4chan!)

October 14, 2014 No comments Article

I always loved working with Google.

I have been participating in their program since 2012. Over the years, I addressed some nice vulnerabilities that got me a couple of hall of fame entries and of course some nice monetary awards. But this last time, I drew a blank.

I spent some time researching Unicode last month. Browsing through a lot of interesting characters, two of them struck my eye: the soft hyphen and the zero with space. There characters are basically – nothing[1], except they are there. Doing a bit of research, I quickly found that these characters were used to “blank post” on the popular image board “4chan”.

newfagscantblankpost-300x159.jpg

Interesting. Naturally, it is not allowed to submit “empty” comments to the board – but using this single character, it was possible to bypass this restriction. Well, such a post is technically not empty. It just seems like it is. I started wondering whether this could lead to some security implications in popular websites. Except for some low-priority design bugs I did not find anything.

[1] The soft hyphen does have a functionality: it indicates where to break a word.

Months passed by. I had forgotten about the special Unicode character and moved on, looking for new and unique bugs. Until I post on the Google Blog:

gmailunicode-300x140.png

Gmail would now support e-mail addresses with Unicode characters. The extraordinary characters from earlier popped up in my head and I had this crazy idea:

inti@deceukelai.re

vs

in*ti@deceukelai.re

Can you spot the difference? I can’t. But believe me – they are different. The 2nd one has a soft hyphen between “in” and “ti”. So technically, this gives us an e-mail that appears to be the same, but isn’t. So what’s the big deal?